Achievements of CmpE Students and Instructors


  • Assoc. Prof. Albert Ali Salah received Science Academy’s Young Scientist Award (BAGEP) for 2017.
  • RoboAKUT got the first place in the RoboCup Iran Open 2017.
  • Prof. Pınar Yolum has received the “Successful Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Award” in the “Women Leaders of Technology Awards” organized by Microsoft and the woman entrepreneurs association KAGIDER.


  • Our graduate Etem Deniz has received the 2016 BAP PhD award for his thesis titled “Automatic Synthetic Benchmark Generation for Multicore Systems”.
  • Assist. Prof. Arzucan Özgür won the Science Academy Young Scientists (BAGEP) Award.
  • Prof. Cem Ersoy and Assist. Prof. Albert Ali Salah won BÜVAK Award for Excellence in Research.


  • Our PhD student Binnur Görer won the Google Anita Borg 2015 award.
  • Our PhD student Hande Alemdar won the Bogazici University BAP Doctorate thesis award.
  • Prof. Dr. Cem Ersoy and Yrd. Doç. Dr. Bert Arnrich were at IEEE/ACM Pervasive Healthcare Conference as the head of the committee.
  • Our MS student Fatma Nur Kılıçlı won the Selçuk Halaç Award.
  • Yrd. Doç. Dr. Albert Ali Salah were at 15th International Conference on Scientometrics and Informatics as the head of the committee.
  • Doç. Dr. Pınar Yolum was at 14th Autonomous Agents and Multiagent Systems (AAMAS) Conference as the head of the committee.
  • Our BS students Gülcihan Büyükdemircioğlu, Burcu Kılıçaslan, Mustafa Demirel and Admir Nurkoviç won the İsmail Arı Project award.


  • The research group, Doç. Dr. Arda Yurdakul, Doç. Dr. Alper Şen and Doğan Fennibay, developed an intersystem integration model and got a chance to get a patent in the field of research for the first time in Turkey.
  • Yrd. Doç. Dr. Albert Ali Salah, was at ACM International Conference on Multimodel Interaction as the head of the committee.
  • Our MS student Gül Varol got the 3rd place between 14 contestants at the Thumos 2014 competition.
  • Heysem Kaya, Tuğçe Özkaptan, Albert Ali Salah and Sadık Fikret Gürgen won the INTERSPEECH 2014 Paralinguistics Grand Challenge Award.


  • Yrd. Doç. Dr. Bert Arnrich got funding from the EU Marie Curie with his project “Pervasive Healthcare: Towards Computational Networked Life Science”.
  • Our BS student Cihat İmamoğlu won the Rectorship Award.


  • Ozan İrsoy got 3 awards when graduating.
  • Can Altay, Birkan Yılmaz and Tuna Tuğcu won the best paper award at IEEE ISCC 2012 Conference.
  • Didem Gözüpek won the doctorate thesis awards.
  • Cem Keskin, got the first place award at the CVPR 2012 Gesture Workshop Demo competition.
  • Our 2006 BS graduate student Dr. Didem Unat was chosen as "2012 Luis W. Alvarez Fellow" at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.
  • Keskin, Kıraç and Kara won the best application paper award at SIU.
  • Our PhD graduate Yrd. Doç. Dr. Ali Haydar Özer got the Serhat Özyar Honor Award.
  • Nese Alyuz, Berk Gokberk and Lale Akarun won the BEFIT best paper award with their projects. 
  • Our PhD student Derya Çavdar Google won the Anita Borg 2012 award.


  • 2 papers from CmpE took the 6th and the 11th places in the "Elsevier Top 25 hottest articles" list.
  • Prof. Dr. Ethem Alpaydın's "Introduction to Machine Learning" book is now published.
  • Dr. Hülya Yalçın won the Marie Curie scholarship.
  • CmpE students İmamoğlu and Aka won a programming competition.
  • Yrd. Doç. Alper Şen won the GEBIP award.
  • AILab Robotics Team got the second place in the RoboCup IRAN Open 2011.
  • Cem Keskin and Eray Berger from the Medialab got the third place in the OpenNI 2011.
  • Our PhD student Hande Alemdar became a finalist for the Google Anita Borg award.


  • Prof. Dr. Ethem Alpaydın's "Machine Learning" book's 2nd edition is now published.
  • Aykut Yiğitel and Özlem Durmaz won the best paper award at the ACM Q2SWinet 2010 conference.
  • Aslı Uyar go the best paper award in the VII. National Medical Information Congress.
  • Mustafa Eray Koçak and Gökberk Ergün got the first place in the Turkcell's Applications Competition, with their fall detection by using cellphone undergraduate project.
  • BU CmpE Team got the second place in the "Intel Cup Undergraduate Electronic Design Contest - Embedded System Design Invitational Contest".
  • Ayse Tosun and Ayse Bener's paper got an award at the AAAI/IAAI 2010 conference.
  • RoboAKUT got the first place in the RoboCup.
  • Derya Çavdar, Birkan Yılmaz, Tuna Tuğcu and Fatih Alagöz got the best paper award at the AICT 2010 conference.
  • Yrd. Doç. Alper Şen got the SRC research fund.
  • Divide & Conquer team got the first place.
  • Our MS student Pınar Yanardağ Google got the Anita Borg 2010 award.
  • Tekin Meriçli got the best paper and best reviewer awards.
  • Onur Türkyılmaz got the TTGV award.
  • Microsoft Research has accepted Ayşe Tosun as the first PhD student from Turkey.


  • Prof. Dr. Ethem Alpaydın's "Machine Learning" book is now published in Chinese.
  • Aslı Uyar got the best paper award at the ICMLDA 2009 conference.
  • We got the best paper award at the ESAW.
  • Mehmet Murat Sevim got the 3rd place at the 18the World Intelligent Games Competition.
  • Ayşe Bener was selected as "Advisory Board Member of IEEE Software".
  • Şerif Bahtiyar, Murat Cihan and M. Ufuk Çağlayan got the best paper award at the SIN '09 conference.
  • Yrd. Doç. Alper Şen became "IEEE Senior Member".
  • İsmail Arı got DAAD scholarship, and got an award in the CmpE 450 project's SCORE competition.
  • SOFTLAB won the best paper award.
  • Our student Didem Gözüpek became a finalist for the Google Anita Borg award.
  • Our student Suzan Bayhan got the Google Anita Borg 2009 award.


  • Prof. Dr. Ethem Alpaydın's "Machine Learning" book is now published in German.
  • Prof. Dr. Ethem Alpaydın got the BUVAK research excellence award.
  • Our PhD graduate Oya Aran's FP7 Marie Curie IEF project is accepted.
  • Mehmet Murat Sevim got the second place at the 17the World Intelligent Games Competition.
  • Our PhD graduate Kubilay Atasu got the best paper award at the "19th IEEE International Conference Application-specific Systems, Architectures and Processors (ASAP'08)" conference.


  • Cem Ersoy ve Fatih Alagöz won BUVAK award.
  • Berk Gökberk won the Alper Atalay best paper award SIU 2007 Conference.


  • İlker Demirkol's paper got into the top 10 most popular papers in July, August and September.
  • Albert Ali Salah won the Europe Biometri Research award.
  • Berk Gökberk and Lale Akarun won the best paper at ICPR 2006 Conference.
  • Our PhD student Berk Gökberk won the Bogazici University BAP Doctorate thesis award.

Contact us

Department of Computer Engineering, Boğaziçi University,
34342 Bebek, Istanbul, Turkey

  • Phone: +90 212 359 45 23/24
  • Fax: +90 212 2872461

Connect with us

We're on Social Networks. Follow us & get in touch.